Made in Europe
ISPO Award Winner 2020
By surfers for surfers
Developed in Germany

The SUP Essentials - it simply doesn't work without them

If you want to buy your first SUP, you'll find out pretty quickly that the board alone is not enough. In order for stand-up paddle boarding to really work (and be fun) you need some essential equipment. We explain to you what it is exactly, what you need it for and what you should look out for when buying it.

Table of Contents

 

1. The essentials

You can't do stand-up paddle boarding without the following accessories:

  • Paddle
  • Fin(s)
  • Leash
  • Pump

Let's get started.

2. The paddle

It is the namesake of the sport. The paddle is primarily intended for progress and navigation. This is especially noticeable in wave SUPing or in whitewater, where you have to maneuver the board quickly back and forth.

As with a SUP board, there are many different types of paddles. We explain the most important ones.

standard-sup-paddel
Standard SUP Paddle

 

2.1 Vario vs. fixed length

The Vario paddle is the most common model, as it is adjustable in length. It is especially suitable for beginners who do not yet know exactly in which disciplines they would like to be on the move. But also for families or groups where several people share a board, the Vario paddle is a good choice, because the paddle can be adjusted to the different body sizes. Another advantage of the Vario paddle is that it can be stored much smaller than a fixed length paddle. However, they tend to be a little heavier and not quite as stable as fixed length paddles.

The fixed length paddle is more for advanced SUPers, or professional athletes, as they only use this paddle for themselves and for a specific discipline. The fixed length paddles are usually a bit more stable and durable than Vario paddles, but not quite as comfortable to carry.

paddel-mit-festem-schaft
Paddle in fixed length

2.2 Material

Paddles are not only available in different lengths and shapes, they also come in different materials, which are suitable for different purposes. The most common materials are aluminium, fibreglass and carbon. Generally speaking, the lighter the material, the more expensive but also the better the performance of the paddle. But everything in turn.

2.2.1 Aluminium paddle

The aluminum paddle is the most robust among the paddles. With normal use, it doesn't really matter if you occasionally strike the one or other stone with it. It is perfect for whitewater and wave SUPing. This is where the stiff shaft comes into play, allowing you to catch just about any wave with a few powerful paddle strokes. But as always in life - no advantage without a disadvantage: Although the aluminum paddle is extremely robust, it is unfortunately also the heaviest.

2.2.2 Carbon paddle

The carbon paddle is the high-end product among the paddles. Compared to the aluminum paddle, it is an absolute flyweight and thus offers an enormous performance potential. Unfortunately, paddles made of carbon fiber are susceptible to impact, which is why they are used more in the field of racing and touring. Even though carbon paddles are the most expensive on the market, the price will pay for itself over the years if you take good care of it. So remember to always put the paddle back in its bag after SUPing.

 

2.2.3 Fiberglass paddles

They are often sold as carbon paddles, but are mostly made of a fiberglass-carbon mixture. The fiberglass paddle offers a very good price-performance ratio and is compared to the pure carbon paddle not quite as susceptible to shock. Nevertheless, you should be careful with the paddle, especially the blade should be protected. If you go paddling regularly, like touring but only have a limited budget, the fiberglass paddle is a good option for you.

2.3 Shaft flex

The flex of a paddle tells you how flexible the paddle shaft is. The bottom line is that it is a matter of taste whether you want a completely stiff, moderately firm, or a high flex paddle. But even here there is a rule of thumb which paddle is suitable for which purpose. Wave, race and touring SUPers like to use a stiff paddle - i.e. with barely noticeable flex - as this provides optimal power transfer. Because where there is hardly any flex, hardly any energy is lost.

Allrounders or beginners tend to use a paddle with higher flex. This makes paddling a little more comfortable, but it is also a little more strenuous to make progress with such a paddle, as the flex in the shaft absorbs some of the transmitted energy.

If you go for a paddle that has no flex at all, you should be aware that your musculoskeletal system - especially your shoulders - will be put under a lot of strain. So maybe go for a light flex and take care of your shoulders.

2.4 Paddle blade

Another essential component of the paddle is the paddle blade, which is defined in particular by the size or area of the blade. What surface area the blade should have depends entirely on your stature and strength. While a smaller paddle blade is suitable for women, children and lighter paddlers, larger and stronger paddlers should go for a larger blade.

Blade size is specified in "inch2" (1 inch = 2.54 cm). While large paddle blades provide more surface area to attack, they also require more effort. As a rule of thumb, women and children should choose a blade area of 75-80 inch2, ambitious paddlers about 85 inch2 and touring paddlers a blade between 85 and 90 inch2. If you are strong and / or on the raceboard, you can also choose a blade with 95 inch2 for you.

3. Fins

Just like in normal surfing, the fin setup can be discussed endlessly. For you, we have listed and described the most common variations, so that you get a general overview of what is important in the fin game.

As a general rule, every fin mounted on the SUP increases the surface and thus increases the water resistance. This has a decisive impact on the gliding properties of your SUP board.

3.1 Tracking

Since boards with only one (but then rather larger) fin offer much less surface area than with three fins, the so-called single fins are considered to be very true to track, or in a direct line. On the water this means that you can do more paddle strokes on one side before you have to change sides to go further straight. This effect is especially popular on tours or when racing. This not only saves power, but also gives you speed, which brings us directly to the next point.

3.2 Speed

As mentioned above, fins add friction in the water and therefore increase drag. Accordingly, it is obvious that the fewer and smaller the fins on the board, the higher the speeds that can be achieved on the SUP. Just remember: If you are fast, you can't steer fast! And who would have thought it, this feature is mainly used by race SUPers.

3.3 Maneuverability

Even though the word resistance has rather negative connotations, boards with three fins (thrusters) make use of it. Due to the larger and spreaded fin surface, thruster boards are much more agile and easy to turn than boards with only one fin. For this reason, wave SUPs and whitewater SUPs almost exclusively have a thruster setup.

3.4 (Tipping) stability

If you want a board that allows you to ride as stable as possible - even at low speeds - then we recommend a three-fin setup. Because of the distributed attachment points, the board is much more stable in the water than a singlefin board. Thus, unplanned weight shifts on the board are virtually "swallowed" and the SUP is less likely to wobble. This is a very useful feature, especially for whitewater SUPing, as the water is already very choppy.

3.5 The 2 + 1 setup

We have now learned that boards with only one fin are very true to track and it is easier to reach high speeds. However, these boards are less maneuverable and a bit more unstable. Predestined for this are race boards and touring boards.
On the other hand, there are wave, whitewater and yoga boards. They usually have three fins, which makes them very maneuverable and tip-resistant. However, compared to singlefin boards, these boards are less fast and less true to track.

There is also a mixed version with 2 smaller side fins and a big singlefin. They are often used on beginner or allround boards. Due to this setup, the boards are relatively stable and can still be turned relatively easily. The nice thing about this setup is that you can vary it depending on your needs. For example, you can mount only the single fin or only the two side fins. So you have maximum freedom and can use your SUP board for different purposes. Keep in mind that a single fin is mounted in a special US box. So you can not easily mount a single fin on your Thruster board.

2+1-finnen-setup
2+1 fins setup

4. Leash

The next SUP accessory we see in the essential category is the leash. It is the leash that connects you to your board. And even if many think now that it does not need such a thing - it does. Because even when SUPing, even if it's just on a small lake, the leash can save lives, especially for unsafe swimmers. But where the risk of a board dismissal is really omnipresent is in whitewater and wave SUPing. It can happen quickly that you fall into the water and bang - your board is gone! Now swim after your board through the rapids or rolling surf. Besides, there is danger not only for you, but also for the other people in the water, if the then ownerless board flows onto them. So a leash is an absolute must-have when SUPing!

But again, there are a few different models. In the next section we bring a little light into the darkness.

4.1 The components

Basically, a leash consists of three components.

  • Cuff - the sleeve with which the leash is attached to the body.
  • Cord - the cord is the middle piece of the leash, the actual line, it is usually made of urethane.
  • Rail Saver - the connector that connects the leash to the board.

4.2 Construction

Leashes can basically be categorized into three types of construction. Which one you choose is a matter of taste.

4.2.1 The straight leash

The straight leash or also called surf leash is probably the most widely used leash on the market. It is attached to the foot and thus provides maximum freedom of movement. It is well suited for normal tours or trips on the lake and especially for wave SUPing. We recommend to attach the leash below the knee. This gives you much more control over the board during a wipeout than if you have the leash on your ankle.

4.2.2 The coiled leash

coiled-leash
Coiled leash

 

The coiled leash is also attached to the foot, but the cord is wound in a spiral (similar to the cable on a telephone receiver). Thus, the leash remains continuously above water and can not get stuck on stones or water plants. This can be an advantage especially in waters with a rather low water level - e.g. when whitewater SUPing. Should you fall into the water, the leash expands. But be careful, it also contracts again, which may cause the board to buckle back.

4.2.3 The quick release leash

The quick release leash or hip leash is basically a coiled leash, which is tied around the waist. This has the advantage that you can separate yourself from the board faster in tricky situations.

Yes, we wrote above that it is important to be connected to the board at all times. But there are exceptional situations in which you should rather get rid of your board. Imagine you are on a river and your board gets tangled in the branches, or your leash gets caught somewhere... The current in the river will immediately pull you under water. You cannot swim against it. And with your hand you can reach your hip much easier than your knee, let alone your ankle. Especially when you're in the water and being tossed around. But this scenario is the absolute emergency and please do not let it stop you from being out on the SUP.

In order to give you a comprehensive insight into the world of leashes, there are two important aspects that influence a leash.

quick-release-leash
Quick release leash

 

4.3 The length

No matter which leash you choose, it should be about the same length as your SUP board. Coiled leashes can be slightly longer when extended. So if your board is 10'6" long, then by rule of thumb you should use a 10ft. or 11ft. leash.

4.4 The thickness

Here it also depends on the field of application. If you are sporty on a raceboard or touring board, a slightly thinner leash (approx. 6mm) is probably sufficient. However, if you are riding in waves and on wild rivers, we recommend somewhat stronger leashes (around 8 mm), so that they can better withstand the pressure of the waves or the river current.

5. Pump

Last but not least comes the pump. Yes, pure hardboard paddlers do not need a pump, but since about 90% of the boards on the market are for inflation, for us the air pump still counts as an essential accessory. We explain the differences and what you should definitely look for in a pump.

No matter which of the following pumps you choose, always make sure that the pump can reach at least the PSI prescribed for your SUP and that it has an integrated pressure gauge (pressure display).

5.1 Single stroke pump

einzelhub-pumpe
Single stroke pump

Single what pump? Single stroke pump! This means that the air flow is only in one direction, namely when pushing down the piston. It is usually included in the complete sets and is unfortunately the most inefficient pump to inflate a SUP. But even with it you get to the goal.

5.2 Double stroke pump

This pump ensures that air flows into the SUP both when pushing the piston down and when pulling it up. This saves an enormous amount of time. In addition, the double stroke pumps also have the option to switch to a single stroke mode, which is advantageous at the latest in the double-digit PSI range, because then pulling up in double stroke mode is quite exhausting.

5.3 Triple action pump

trippel-action-pumpe
Tripple Action Pump

The triple action pump is actually identical to the double stroke pump. Like many other pumps, it has two pistons through which the air is pumped into the SUP. With this pump you can, as the name suggests, choose between three modes. The double stroke mode (analog double stroke pump) and the single stroke mode (analog single stroke pump). And in the single stroke mode lays the highlight: here you can further subdivide whether air from two or only one piston should flow into the SUP when pressing down the pump. This allows the amount of air per stroke, and thus force / time required, even more fine-tuned and individual.

5.4 Electric pump

elektrische-pumpe
Electric pump

Then there is also the electric pump. Most electric pumps run on a 12 volt car connection (cigarette lighter), or on an external battery. This means that either your car must always be on site or you must ensure that the battery is sufficiently charged. Good electric pumps have a built-in automatic shut-off that makes the pump stop automatically as soon as a pre-defined pressure is reached in the SUP. Admittedly, the electric pump is probably the most convenient way to inflate a SUP, but is it really necessary? Moreover, it is not exactly quiet either. We at TRIPSTIX prefer one of the manual versions and see the inflation process more as a short warm-up than an annoying preparation effort.

6. Conclusion

So that was it, our guide to the SUP essentials that you should not go without. And you have probably noticed that there are very specific solutions for the different purposes. You just have to engage with it. So before you rush straight to the nearest (online) store, be aware of the requirements for which you need the essentials.

If you have any questions, suggestions or other thoughts on the topic, feel free to write us in the comments. We look forward to your feedback!

Hat Dir der Artikel gefallen oder war er hilfreich?

Bitte bewerte den Artikel:

8 Bewertungen

0 Kommentare

Kommentar verfassen
Name:
Email
Evaluation Quality:
Headline:
Comment:
Newsletter
Facebook Instagram Youtube

Made in Europe
ISPO Award Winner 2020
Von Surfern für Surfer
Entwickelt in Deutschland

Die SUP Essentials - ohne die funktioniert SUPen einfach nicht

Wer sich sein erstes SUP kaufen möchte, der wird ziemlich schnell feststellen, dass es mit dem Board allein nicht getan ist. Damit Stand Up Paddeln wirklich funktioniert (und auch Spaß macht) brauchst du noch das ein oder andere essentielle Equipment. Wir erklären dir, was das genau ist, wofür du es brauchst und worauf du beim jeweiligen Kauf achten solltest.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

 

1. Die Essentials

Beim Stand Up Paddeln kommst du um die die folgenden Accessoires nicht rum. 

  • Paddel
  • Finne(n)
  • Leash
  • Pumpe

Fangen wir direkt an.

2. Das Paddel

Es ist quasi der Namensgeber der Sportart. Das Paddel ist vornehmlich zum Vorankommen und zum Navigieren gedacht. Das merkt man ganz besonders beim Wave SUPen oder im Whitewater, wo man eben das Board schnell hin und her manövrieren muss.

Wie bei einem SUP Board gibt es auch bei einem Paddel viele unterschiedliche Ausprägungen. Wir erklären dir die Wichtigsten.

standard-sup-paddel
Standard SUP Paddel

 

2.1 Vario vs. feste Länge

Das Vario Paddel ist eigentlich das gängigste Modell, da es in der Länge verstellbar ist. Es eignet sich gerade für Einsteiger, die noch nicht genau wissen in welchen Disziplinen sie am ehesten unterwegs sein möchten. Aber auch für Familien bzw. Gruppen bei denen sich mehrere Personen ein Board teilen, ist das Vario Paddel eine gute Wahl, da das Paddel auf die unterschiedlichen Körpergrößen eingestellt werden kann. Ein weiterer Vorteil des Vario Paddels ist, dass es um einiges kleiner verstaut werden kann, als ein Paddel mit fester Länge. Allerdings sind sie in der Regel etwas schwerer und nicht ganz so stabil wie Paddel mit fester Länge.

Das Paddel mit fester Länge ist eher etwas für fortgeschrittene SUPer, bzw. professionelle Sportler, da sie dieses Paddel nur für sich und für eine bestimmte Disziplin nutzen. Die Festlängen Paddel sind normalerweise etwas stabiler und langlebiger als Vario Paddel, dafür aber nicht ganz so angenehm zu transportieren.

paddel-mit-festem-schaft
Paddel in fester Länger

 

2.2 Material 

Paddel gibt es nicht nur in verschiedenen Längen und Formen, nein, es gibt sie zudem auch noch in verschiedenen Materialien, welche sich für unterschiedliche Einsatzzwecke eignen. Zu den gängigsten Materialien zählen Aluminium, Fiberglas und Carbon. Generell kann gesagt werden, je leichter das Material, desto teurer aber auch desto performanter das Paddel. Doch alles der Reihe nach.

2.2.1 Alu Paddel

Das Alu Paddel ist das Robuste unter den Paddeln. Bei normalem Gebrauch macht es ihm eigentlich nichts aus, wenn man damit mal den ein oder anderen Stein mitnimmt. Es eignet sich perfekt für Whitewater und Wave SUPen. Hier kommt vor allem der steife Schaft zum Tragen, durch den man mit wenigen kräftigen Paddelzügen so gut wie jede Welle erwischen kann. Aber wie immer im Leben - Kein Vorteil ohne Nachteil: Obwohl das Alupaddel extrem robust ist, ist es leider auch das Schwerste.

2.2.2 Carbon Paddel

Das Carbon Paddel ist das High-End Produkt unter den Paddeln. Im Vergleich zum Alupaddel ist es ein absolutes Fliegengewicht und bietet somit ein enormes Performance-Potential. Nur leider sind Paddel aus Carbonfaser stoßanfällig, weshalb sie eher im Bereich Race und Touring verwendet werden. Auch wenn die Carbon Paddel die teuersten auf dem Markt sind, relativiert sich der Preis über die Jahre, sofern du pfleglich damit umgehst. Also denk daran, dass du das Paddel nach dem SUPen immer wieder in deiner Paddeltasche verstaust.

 

2.2.3 Fiberglas Paddel

Sie werden oftmals als Carbon Paddel verkauft, sind aber meistens aus einem Fiberglas-Carbon Gemisch. Das Fiberglas Paddel bietet ein sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis und ist im Vergleicht zum reinen Carbon Paddel nicht ganz so stoßanfällig. Dennoch solltest du vorsichtig mit dem Paddel umgehen, besonders das Blatt gilt es hier zu schützen. Wenn du regelmäßig paddeln gehst, gerne Touren fährst aber nur über ein eingeschränktes Budget verfügst, ist das Fiberglas Paddel eine gute Option für dich.

2.3 Schaft-Flex

Der Flex eines Paddels sagt aus, wie biegsam der Paddelschaft ist. Unterm Strich ist es Geschmacksache ob du ein komplett steifes, moderat festes oder ein Paddel mit hohem Flex haben möchtest. Aber auch hier gibt es eine Daumenregel welches Paddel sich für welchen Einsatzzweck eignet. Wave-, Race- und Touring SUPer greifen gerne auf ein steifes Paddel zurück - also mit kaum spürbarem Flex - da hier eine optimale Kraftübertragung stattfindet. Denn wo kaum Flex ist, geht auch kaum Energie verloren.

Allrounder bzw. Beginner verwenden tendenziell ein Paddel mit höherem Flex. Das macht den Bewegungsablauf beim Paddeln zwar etwas angenehmer, allerdings ist es mit solch einem Paddel auch etwas anstrengender voranzukommen, da durch den Flex im Schaft etwas der übertragenen Energie absorbiert wird.

Wenn du auf ein Paddel zurückgreifst, das gar keinen Flex hat, solltest du dir im Klaren sein, dass dein Bewegungsapparat - allen voran deine Schultern - stark beansprucht wird. Also vielleicht lieber einen leichten Flex und so deine Schultern schonen. 

2.4 Paddel Blatt

Ein weiterer essenziell wichtiger Bestandteil des Paddels ist das Paddel Blatt, das sich insbesondere über die Größe bzw. Fläche des Blattes definiert. Welche Fläche das Blatt haben sollte hängt ganz von deiner Statur und Kraft ab. Während für Frauen, Kinder und leichtere Paddler ein eher kleineres Paddelblatt geeignet ist, sollten größere und kräftigere Paddler auch auf ein eher größeres Blatt gehen. 

Die Blattgröße wird in „inch2“ (1 inch = 2,54 cm) angeben. Große Paddelblätter bieten zwar mehr Angriffsfläche, erfordern aber auch mehr Kraftaufwand. Als Faustregel gilt, dass Frauen und Kinder eine Blattfläche von 75-80 inch2, ambitionierte Paddler ca. 85 inch2 und Tourenpaddler ein Blatt zwischen 85 und 90 inch2 wählen sollten. Wenn du kräftig und / oder auf dem Raceboard unterwegs bist kannst du auch gerne ein Blatt mit 95 inch2 für dich wählen.

3. Finnen

Wie beim normalen Surfen auch, kann man über das Finnen-Setup schier unendlich lange diskutieren. Für dich haben wir die gängigsten Varianten aufgelistet und beschrieben, damit du einen generellen Überblick bekommst, worauf es im Finnen-Game ankommt. 

Generell gilt: Jede Finne die am SUP montiert ist, steigert die Reibungsfläche und erhöht so den Wasserwiderstand. Dies hat entscheidende Auswirkungen auf die Gleiteigenschaften deines SUP Boards.

3.1 Spurtreue

Da Boards mit nur einer (dann aber eher größeren) Finne wesentlich weniger Angriffsfläche als mit drei Finnen bieten, gelten die sogenannten Singlefins als sehr spurtreu, bzw. geradlinig. Auf dem Wasser bedeutet das, dass du auf einer Seite mehr Paddelschläge durchführen kannst, bevor du die Seite wechseln musst um weiter geradeaus zu fahren. Besonders auf Touren oder beim Racen wird dieser Effekt gerne genutzt. Das spart nicht nur Kraft, sondern bringt dir zudem auch Geschwindigkeit, was uns direkt zum nächsten Punkt bringt. 

3.2 Geschwindigkeit

Wie bereits oben erwähnt bringen Finnen im Wasser Reibungsfläche mit sich und erhöhen somit den Widerstand. Dementsprechend liegt es auf der Hand, dass je weniger und kleiner die Finnen am Board sind, desto höher die Geschwindigkeiten die auf dem SUP erreicht werden können. Nur bedenke: Bist du schnell, kannst du nicht schnell lenken! Und wer hätte es gedacht, diese Eigenschaft machen sich hauptsächlich Race-SUPer zu nutze.

3.3 Wendigkeit

Auch wenn das Wort Widerstand eher negativ konnotiert ist, machen es sich die Boards mit drei Finnen (Thruster) zu nutze. Durch die größere Angriffsfläche sind Thruster-Boards wesentlich drehfreudiger und agiler als Boards mit nur einer Finne. Aus diesem Grund haben gerade Wave-SUPs sowie Whitewater-SUPs fast ausschließlich ein Thruster-Setup verbaut.

3.4 (Kipp-)Stabilität

Möchtest du ein Board, mit dem du - auch bei geringen Geschwindigkeiten - möglichst stabil unterwegs sein kannst, dann empfehlen wir dir ein Drei-Finnen-Setup. Denn durch die verteilten Aufsatzpunkte liegt das Board um einiges stabiler im Wasser als ein Singlefin Board. So werden ungeplante Gewichtsverlagerungen auf dem Brett quasi „geschluckt“ und das SUP kommt weniger schnell ins Wanken. Das ist gerade beim Whitewater-SUPen eine sehr nützliche Eigenschaft, da ja bereits das Wasser sehr sehr unruhig ist.

3.5 Das 2 + 1 Setup

Wir haben jetzt gelernt, dass Boards mit nur einer Finne sehr spurtreu sind und man leichter hohe Geschwindigkeiten erreichen kann. Allerdings sind diese Boards weniger wendig und etwas instabiler. Prädestiniert dafür sind Raceboards und Touring Boards.
Auf der anderen Seite gibt es noch die Wave-, Whitewater- und Yogaboards. Sie haben in der Regel drei Finnen, was sie sehr wendig und kippstabil macht. Allerdings sind diese Boards im Vergleich zu Singlefin Boards weniger schnell und spurtreu unterwegs.

Es gibt aber auch noch eine Mischvariante mit 2 kleineren Seitenfinnen und einer großen Singlefin. Sie sind oftmals auf den Einsteiger bzw. Allround Boards verbaut. Durch dieses Setup sind die Boards verhältnismäßig stabil und können sich doch relativ leicht wenden lassen. Das Schöne an diesem Aufbau ist, dass du je nach Anspruch auch die Möglichkeit hast zu variieren. So kannst du bspw. nur die Singlefin montieren oder eben nur die beiden Seitenfinnen. So hast du maximale Freiheit und kannst dein SUP-Board für verschiedene Einsatzzwecke verwenden. Bedenke aber, dass eine Singlefin in einer speziellen US-Box montiert wird. Du kannst also auf dein Thruster Board nicht ohne weiteres eine Singlefin montieren.

2+1-finnen-setup
2+1 Finnen Setup

 

4. Leash

Das nächste SUP-Zubehör, das wir in der Kategorie Essential sehen ist die Leash. Sie ist die Fangleine die dich mit deinem Board verbindet. Und auch wenn jetzt viele denken, dass es so etwas nicht braucht - tut es doch. Denn auch beim SUPen, und sei es nur auf einem kleinen See, kann die Leash Leben retten, vor allen bei unsicheren Schwimmern. Wo das Risiko eines Boardabgangs aber wirklich allgegenwärtig ist, ist beim Whitewater- und Wave-SUPen. Es kann schnell passieren, dass du ins Wasser fällst und zack - dein Board ist weg! Und jetzt schwimm mal deinem Brett durch die Stromschnellen bzw. hereinrollende Brandung hinterher. Außerdem besteht nicht nur Gefahr für dich, sondern auch für die anderen Leute im Wasser, wenn das dann herrenlose Board auf sie strömt. Eine Leash ist also ein absolutes Must-have beim SUPen!

Aber auch hier gibt es einige unterschiedliche Modelle. Im nächsten Abschnitt bringen wir ein wenig Licht ins Dunkel.

4.1 Die Bestandteile

Im Grunde besteht eine Leash aus drei Komponenten. 

  • Cuff - die Manschette, mit der die Leash am Körper befestigt wird
  • Cord/ Schnur - die Cord ist das Mittelstück der Leash, die eigentliche Leine, sie besteht meist aus Urethan.
  • Rail Saver - das Verbindungsstück, das die Leine mit dem Board verbindet.

4.2 Aufbau

Leashes lassen sich prinzipiell in drei Bauweisen kategorisieren. Welche man wählt ist Geschmacksache.

4.2.1 Die Straight Leash

Die Straight Leash oder auch Surf Leash genannt, ist die wohl am weitesten verbreitete Leash auf dem Markt. Sie wird am Fuß befestigt und sorgt somit für maximale Bewegungsfreiheit. Sie eignet sich gut für normale Touren bzw. Ausflüge auf dem See und besonders für´s Wave SUPen. Wir empfehlen die Leash unterhalb des Knies zu befestigen. Somit hast du bei einem Wipeout deutlich mehr Kontrolle über das Board, als wenn du die Leash am Knöchel führst.

4.2.2 Die Coiled Leash

coiled-leash
Coiled Leash

 

Die Coiled Leash wird ebenfalls am Fuß befestigt, allerdings ist die Cord spiralförmig aufgewickelt (ähnlich dem Kabel an einem Telefonhörer). Dadurch bleibt die Leash durchgehend über Wasser und kann nicht an Steinen oder Wasserpflanzen hängen bleiben. Dies kann vor allem in Gewässern mit eher niedrigem Wasserstand von Vorteil sein – so z.B, beim Whitewater SUPen. Solltest du einmal ins Wasser fallen, dehnt sich die Leash aus. Aber Vorsicht, sie zieht sich auch wieder zusammen, wodurch das Board unter Umständen zurückschnallen kann.

4.2.3 Die Quick Release Leash

Die Quick Release Leash oder auch Hüft Leash ist im Grunde genommen eine Coiled Leash, welche um die Hüfte gebunden wird. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass du dich in brenzligen Situationen schneller vom Board trennen kannst.

Ja richtig, wir haben oben geschrieben, dass es wichtig ist, immer mit dem Board verbunden zu sein. Es gibt aber Ausnahmesituationen, in denen du dein Brett lieber loswerden solltest. Stell dir vor, du bist auf einem Fluss und dein Board verheddert sich im Geäst, oder deine Leash bleibt irgendwo hängen… Die Strömung im Fluss wird dich sofort unter Wasser ziehen. Da hilft auch kein dagegen schwimmen. Und mit der Hand kommst du um einiges leichter an die Hüfte als an dein Knie, geschweige denn an deinen Knöchel. Erst recht, wenn du im Wasser bist und umher gewirbelt wirst. Aber dieses Szenario ist der absolute Notfall und soll dich bitte nicht davon abhalten auf dem SUP unterwegs zu sein. 

Damit wir dir einen umfangreichen Einblick in die Welt der Leashes geben können, fehlen nun noch zwei wichtige Aspekte, die eine Leash beeinflussen.

quick-release-leash
Quick Release Leash

 

4.3 Die Länge

Egal für welche Leash du dich entscheidest, sie sollte in etwa so lang sein wie dein SUP Board. Coiled Leashes können im ausgezogenen Zustand etwas länger sein. Ist dein Board also 10’6“ lang, dann solltest du, laut Daumenregel eine 10ft. oder 11ft. Leash verwenden.

4.4 Die Dicke

Hier kommt es auch auf das Einsatzgebiet drauf an. Wenn du sportlich auf dem Raceboard oder Touring Board unterwegs bist, ist eine etwas dünnere Leash (ca. 6mm) vermutlich ausreichend. Wenn du allerdings in Wellen und auf wilden Flüssen unterwegs bist, raten wir zu etwas stärkeren Leashes (rund 8 mm), damit sie auch den Druck der Wellen bzw. der Flussströmung besser standhalten.

5. Pumpe

Zu guter Letzt kommt die Pumpe an die Reihe. Ja, reine Hardboard Paddler benötigen keine Pumpe, da aber rund 90% der Boards auf dem Markt zum Aufpumpen sind, zählt für uns die Luftpumpe trotzdem zum Essential-Zubehör. Wir erklären dir welche Unterschiede es gibt und worauf du bei einer Pumpe definitiv achten solltest.

Egal für welche der folgenden Pumpen du dich entscheidest, achte stets darauf, dass die Pumpe mindesten die für dein SUP vorgeschriebenen PSI erreichen kann und dass sie einen integrierten Manometer (Druckanzeige) besitzt.

5.1 Einzelhub Pumpe

einzelhub-pumpe
Einzelhub Pumpe

 

Einzel was Pumpe? Einzelhub Pumpe! Das bedeutet, dass die Luftausströmung nur in eine Richtung erfolgt, nämlich beim Herunterdrücken des Kolbens. Sie ist meistens mit in den Komplettsets enthalten und ist leider auch die wohl ineffizienteste Pumpe um ein SUP aufzupumpen. Aber auch mit ihr kommst du ans Ziel.

5.2 Doppelhub Pumpe 

Diese Pumpe sorgt dafür, dass sowohl beim Hinunterdrücken des Kolbens, als auch beim Hochziehen, Luft in das SUP strömt. Dadurch wird enorm viel Zeit gespart. Zudem verfügen die Doppelhub Pumpen auch über die Möglichkeit in einen Einzelhub-Modus zu wechseln, was spätestens im zweistelligen PSI-Bereich von Vorteil ist, denn dann ist das Hochziehen im Doppelhub-Modus ganz schön anstrengend.

5.3 Triple Action Pumpe

trippel-action-pumpe
Tripple Action Pumpe

 

Die Triple Action Pumpe ist von der Wirkungsweise eigentlich identisch zur Doppelhub Pumpe. Wie viele andere Pumpen auch, verfügt sie über zwei Kolben, über die die Luft in das SUP gepumpt wird. Bei dieser Pumpe kannst du, wie der Name schon erahnen lässt, zwischen drei Modi wählen. Dem Doppelhub Modus (analog Doppelhub Pumpe) und dem Einzelhub Modus (analog Einzelhub Pumpe). Und im Einzelhub Modus liegt der Clou: Hier kann nochmal unterteilt werden, ob beim Hinunterdrücken der Pumpe Luft aus zwei oder nur einem Kolben in das SUP strömen soll. Dadurch kann die Luftmenge pro Hub, und damit Kraft-/ Zeitaufwand, noch feiner und individueller abgestimmt werden.

5.4 Elektrische Pumpe

elektrische-pumpe
Elektrische Pumpe

 

Dann gibt es da auch noch die elektrische Pumpe. Die meisten elektrischen Pumpen laufen über einen 12 Volt KFZ Anschluss (Zigarettenanzünder), bzw. über einen externen Akku. Das hat zur Folge, dass entweder dein Auto immer mit vor Ort sein oder du dafür Sorge tragen musst, dass der Akku ausreichend geladen ist. Gute elektrische Pumpen haben eine eingebaute Abschaltautomatik, die die Pumpe automatisch stoppen lässt, sobald ein vorab definierter Druck im SUP erreicht ist. Zugegebenermaßen ist die elektrische Pumpe, die wohl bequemste Art ein SUP aufzupumpen, aber braucht es das wirklich? Zudem ist sie auch nicht gerade leise. Wir von TRIPSTIX bevorzugen jedenfalls eine der manuellen Varianten und sehen den Aufpump-Vorgang vielmehr als kurzes Warmup als nervigen Vorbereitungsaufwand an.

6. Fazit

So, das war er, unser Guide für die SUP Essentials, ohne die man nicht losgehen sollte. Und du hast sicherlich gemerkt, dass es für die verschiedenen Einsatzzwecke ganz spezifische Lösungen gibt. Man muss sich eben nur damit beschäftigen. Bevor du also blindlings in den nächsten Store oder Onlineshop gehst, werde dir bewusst, für welche Anforderungen du die Essentials benötigst.

Wenn du Fragen, Anregungen oder sonstige Gedanken zum Thema hast, schreib uns gerne in den Kommentaren. Wir freuen uns auf dein Feedback!

Hat Dir der Artikel gefallen oder war er hilfreich?

Bitte bewerte den Artikel:

8 Bewertungen

0 Kommentare

Kommentar verfassen
Name:
E-Mail
Bewertung Qualätit:
Überschrift:
Kommentar:
Newsletter
Facebook Instagram Youtube